I never had much money prior to joining the Navy. Like most people right out of college, I owed more than I had. Even after being in the service and making decent money, it took me a lot of trial and error to save and invest. My goal with this blog is to help my co-workers, friends and others to think more about saving and investing.

The first question I ask anyone who is thinking of starting saving is, What are your goals?

Some typical answers are:

  • Save for a car, house or land
  • Pay off debt
  • Save for my retirement
  • Save for my kids schooling
  • Save so I can pay rent this month

Another common thing I see are individuals who have some money saved up and just aren’t sure what to do with it. Having it sitting in your checking or savings account isn’t really helping make you money so my goal is to inform on some of the tips and easy ways a beginner can invest like I learned myself.

No one is getting rich in the next month of doing these things, not even the next year. Don’t let anyone tell you it’s easy or that there is a “quick easy way to make a bunch of money” it’s always bullshit, if it were easy then everyone would have hundreds of thousands of dollars in cash and no debt. If you stick with this mentality of saving and doing some passive investing you will not be rich in the near future but you will be rich one day.

-Matthew Bunting (Bunts)

